Kharkov-Passenger (Kharkov-Passazhirski) Railway Station printer

The main station building, a sample of pompous architectural style typical of the late Stalin era, dates back to 1952. It was designed by G Voloshin, B. Mezentsev and Ye. Lymar to replace the old station building, destroyed during WWII. In the 1980s, the Express Hotel was constructed in its immediate vicinity. Since late 1990s, the first railway platform boasts a life-size bronze monument to the Reverend Fyodor, a hero from the famous novel The Twelve Chairs by Ilya Ilf and Yevgueni Petrov. For several decades this satirical book, full of humour and vitality, used to be Soviet household reading.

Located right in front of Departure Lounge for People with Limited Mobility, the railway station parking lot contains three special ”slots” for such persons.

The main entrance stairs lead to the first floor level and are devoid of ramps; the Departure Lounge for People with Limited Mobility is on the ground floor, but the entrance stairs have 8 steps and a non-standard ramp with one-side hand-rails.

The first platform can be easily accessed through the second, alternative entrance located at the left side of the Express Hotel. A standard ramp with double hand-rails leads to the commuter trains booking office hall; from there one gets to Platform One via automatically working doors.

Railway crossings have been adapted for needs of persons with physical limitations or disabilities, yet renovation quality remains insufficient: bumps, potholes, absence of visual signs etc. create certain difficulties for people using wheelchairs.


utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility utility

photo

Adress: 1, Privoxalnaya Sq.
Telephone: +38 (057) 724-37-84; Support service telephone: +38 (057) 724-20-76
e-mail:
site: